ICC 2024-2031 Cycle – Champions Trophy Reintroduced, T20 WC will Have 20 Teams & ODI 14 Teams

International Cricket Council has introduced its eight-year cycle (2024-2024) of the Future Tour Program (FTP). There are few changes made for the events that will be scheduled between 2024 to 2031. The decisions on changes are made at the ICC Board meeting held on 01st June 2021. The following decision regarding key tournaments i.e., 50 Overs Cricket World Cup, ICC Champions Trophy and T20 world cup are taken.  

  • ICC Cricket World Cup: ICC Cricket World Cup (50 over competition) played during the newly announced cycle (2024-2031) will comprise of 14 teams, held in 2027. However, the ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 which will be played in India (13th edition) is an exception and will be arranged as per the previous schedule i.e., 10 teams completion.
  • ICC Champion Trophy: ICC Champions Trophy which was announced by ICC in 2018 to be abandoned has been reintroduced. Now, the eight-team tournament will be held in 2024 and 2028 during the period of the updated schedule. The last event of the title was held in 2017 which was won by Pakistan.
  • ICC T20 Cricket World Cup: ICC T20 Cricket World Cup which currently consists of 16 teams is upgraded to an event of 20 teams. The 20 teams will be considered for the T20 World Cup event that will be played during updated FTP (2024-2031). The ICC T20 Cricket World Cup 2021 will be played as per the previous schedule, the event will be held in India in October and November 2021.   

It is pertinent to mention here that there is One (01) ICC Cricket World Cup, two (02) ICC Champion Trophy Events and four (04) ICC T20 events will be held during the period from 2024 to 2031.  Bay expansion of participants ICC considers giving the opportunity to new teams to take part in major cricket events.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *