Imran Khan Won The ICC Poll, Beating Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers And Women Cricketer Meg Lanning

Imran Khan, now the prime minister of Pakistan is a globally renowned cricketer and a great captain of all times. He won the fresh twitter polls, conducted by ICC, beating his counterparts from India, South Africa and a women cricketer from Australia. The ICC polls were meant to check the popularity of top captains whom performance flourished after captaincy. Imran Khan beat Virat Kohli with a close margin, claiming 47% votes while Kohli got 46% out of total 536,346 votes. The other two contenders AB de Villiers and a women cricketer from Australia Meg Lanning got 6% and 0.5% votes respectively.  

The ICC Twitter polls suggest that after more than 28 years of his retirement from International cricket Imran Khan is still popular among the cricket playing nations. The Pakistanis celebrate this poll win on the Twitter, the senior anchor Kamran Khan share a tweet with exciting comment “this is a proud moment, we hope that under Imran Khan leadership Pakistan will beat India on economic grounds”.

For the first time, ICC has conducted such poll where cricket fans are invited to participate, earlier ICC has announced the international team of the decade for Tests, ODIs and T20s where no Pakistani player was inducted. This move of ICC received scathing criticism from Pakistanis. The former Pakistani wicket-keeper Rashid Latif mocked the ICC team as IPL team.

Apart from ICC polls, Imran Khan is renowned in the world as an all-time favourite cricketer, a charismatic leader and a distinguished all-rounder. Winning of world cup cricket 1992 with an inexperienced team is considered a miraculous victory by any team in cricket history. Khan won the poll, being the only contender who was an allrounder (other three were batsmen). His test batting average was 52.34 as captain and 25.43 while not as a captain. However, his test bowling average was 20.26 as captain and 25.53 while not as a captain.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *