Jaffna Stallions Beat Gall Gladiators In LPL 2020 Finale – It’s Interesting! Despite Overseas Players, LPL Has Foreign Franchise Owners

The final of the first edition of Lanka Premier League 2020 played on Wednesday between Jaffna Stallions and Galle Gladiators at Mahinda Rajapaksa International Cricket Stadium. Where Jaffna Stallions beat Gall Gladiators to win the first edition of Lanka Premier League. Apart from the trophy, the winner will get the prize money or $ 100,000 and the runner up will get $ 50,000. However, at the end of the league, it is interesting to note that all the owners of the LPL franchises belong to the country other than Sir Lanka. Three of five franchises are owned by Pakistani, Indian and Canadian businessman and two by Bollywood actors. The detail of overseas owners of Lanka Primer League 2020 is below: –      

  1. Galle Gladiators | Owner Nadeem Omar A Pakistan Businessman

Galle Gladiators is the runner up of the first edition of the Lanka Premier League. The franchise owns by Pakistani Businessman and owner of Quetta Gladiators Nadeem Omer. For his first endeavour in LPL, he relied on his own lineup squad and coaches from Pakistan, most from Quetta Gladiator camp. His team played well in the league however Pakistani players cannot show up with exceptional performance.   

2. Kandy Tuskers | Owner Sohail Khan An Indian Actor And Businessman

The franchise is owned by Indian actor and businessman Sohail Khan, who is the brother of Bollywood superstar Salman Khan. Sohail Khan is also the owner of Sohail Khan International Llp which is a Limited Liability Partnership firm based in Mumbai. Kany Tuskers took good players and couple of pacers from India, however they failed to give exceptional performance and the team eliminate in the first round of the tournament, missing semi finales.

3. Dambulla Viiking | Owner Sachiin J. Joshi an Indian Actor

The LPL franchise Dambulla Viiking is owned by Indian actor Sachiin J. Joshi. The team got some good overseas players like Samit Patel, Paul Stirling, Johnson Charles, Lendl Simmons, Sudeep Tyagi, Aftab Alam, Anwar Ali etc. Though the side played well and manage to reach the semifinal but lost to Jaffna Stallions, which is a strong side and winner of the first edition of LPL.  

4. Jaffna Stallions | Owner Rahul Sood a Canadian Businessman

Rahul Sood is the CEO of Unikrn and was the founder of VoodooPC, he also remained the GM of Microsoft Ventures. For the first time, the business owner tried his luck in cricket and it worked. His team Jaffna Stallions win the first-ever edition of the LPL. The team took some good experienced players including Pakistani Veteran Shoaib Malik and Thisara Perera from Sir Lanka.

5. Colombo Kings | Owner Murfad Mustafa an Indian Businessman

Murfad Mustafa is Dubai based businessman who hails from Kerala India. Murfad Mustafa 35, is managing a business named Faza Group, a group started by his father in Dubai. Murfad has a great passion for cricket and has befriended may Indian International Cricketers.  

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *